Looking Ahead

Readers, I’ve officially made it through three tests and my first month of sophomore year.  (This in itself is a big deal.)  More importantly though (at least in my opinion), the collegiate equestrian season has started!

Here are the members of the western team last year at the Western Michigan meet. We were reserve team champions.

As I mentioned in my previous blog, I am on the western (stock seat) equestrian team here at Albion.  We practice out at our coach, Denise Webber’s barn (Nottawa Paint Horses, which is a short drive west of campus in Marshall).  We practice there because of the heavy jumping and dressage lesson schedule at our Held Equestrian Center and because Denise has a lot of amazing western horses for us to train on.  (One of them – Zipper – was the first ever horse donated to the western team here at Albion.  He came to us over the summer and we all love him.)

This is my second year on the team and I compete as one of the open level and reining riders.  (Our team carries two riders at that level.)  Last year, I qualified for regionals in both my open (equitation) and reining classes and was also the high point rider at one of our shows, which was super exciting!

We draw horses for each ride in the IHSA and this guy - BJ - is my FAVORITE draw. I got my high point ribbon for this class last season.

This year, in addition to our nine returning riders, we have three new freshmen on the team, along with a new sophomore.  I haven’t had a chance to see everyone ride yet, but this season looks promising.  Our first show is this weekend (October 9) at the Midland County Fairgrounds, and then we have another one the following weekend here at Albion – our home opener.  We’re already busy getting ready for the first meet, as well as planning and organizing for our home meet.  There’s a lot to get done between then and now.

Go Brits!

Leave a Reply

