A Glamorous Trip to Lamplight

Walking the course with George and doing video commentary. (Keep checking our Facebook page - it'll be posted soon!) Photo courtesy of Southern Sky Photography.

I hope everyone’s summer is going well!

My summer is off to a great start.  Last weekend, I traveled to the Lamplight Equestrian Center in Wayne, IL for the Showplace Spring Spectacular.  For those of you who haven’t been there (which included me until last week), the grounds are beautiful!  There are four show rings and multiple warm-up rings, all spread out between eight separate barns that are capable of stabling over 1,000 horses.

 George (the person), George (the horse), my teammate (and photographer extraordinaire) Lindsey Memering, my friend from home Hira Byrne, and I arrived at the show on Wednesday and then, in true Albion equestrian fashion, we went out for Chinese food for dinner, then returned to the hotel to prepare for the next day.  I fell asleep quickly, but was awakened by thunder at about 4:00 a.m.

Needless to say, that occurence left me less than happy.
 
The thunder and lightning continued through the day on Thursday and my classes were pushed back until Friday (just my luck).  The extensive rain even caused some of the stalls to flood – and George’s was one of them.  Luckily, Hira and I figured out that we could dig trenches right outside the stable to lead the water towards a drain (a process that involved us jumping on shovels to dig into the dirt, moving grass with our hands, and getting very wet).

Oh, the glamor of horse shows!

 After that, we found another way to pass the time – we all went to the local mall for some indoor fun (after George admitted that there was nothing he would rather do than go shopping.  Yeah, right).  When we got there, we three girls started looking at some clothes, but when we turned around, George was gone (traveling with him is like being with a small child).  Hira said she thought that she saw him wander out into the mall, so we headed in that direction to look for him.  A few minutes later, we found him in the mall’s arcade playing video games.  We were able to pull him away from the games with a promise to go see the new X-Men movie – which was amazing.  I highly recommend it! 
 
Still, when Friday finally came around, I was more than ready to show!

George and I on course at Lamplight. Photo courtesy of Southern Sky Photography.

We showed in two classes on Friday:  the $1,500 WIHS Adult Jumpers and the $1,500 M & S Adult Jumpers (both set to run at 3’9” – 3’11”).  I walked the courses with a video camera so you can all see how intimidating the jumps were and how technical and challenging the course was.  I felt up to the challenge, however, and excited to show off what George and I had been practicing.
 
Unfortunately, my first class showed that George (the horse) was not as ready to show as I was.  We did not go clear in either of our first classes, including dropping a rail in our first in and out.  I was hopeful that the next day would be more successful, but I was proved wrong yet again.  Ultimately, we concluded that George was overwhelmed by everything going on, but moving forward, I still think we can have a great show season.
 
Our next show is at Win-a-Gin in Oxford, MI, where we will show in the 3’6”, 3’9” and 4’ jumpers – hopefully with better results!  I will keep everyone updated – enjoy your summer!

2 thoughts on “A Glamorous Trip to Lamplight

Leave a Reply

