My First Midterm

Oh midterms!

As a first-year college student, the word “midterm” alone is scary enough.  Lucky for me, I only had one big midterm exam this semester, and it was for my drawing class.  (But before you laugh, please note that there were a lotof terms that had to be memorized for this exam!)

See this stock photo? This is what I thought midterm exams would be like. I was really glad to be wrong this semester!

And on top of a written portion, there was a drawing assignment as well.  We were told that we were going to have to do a “still-life” drawing, but that was about all of the information we got.   So at 10:15 this morning, I walked in the class, portfolio and sketchbook in hand (and both ready to be turned in), and – surprisingly – the nerves went away.  Once our professor handed out the exam, I looked over it with a smile on my face and noticed that it was only one page (front and back) with “simple to read questions.”  That made me feel a little more confident in myself.  Then he managed to tell us that we had until the next morning to finish our drawing and that we were allowed to listen to music and talk to our friends – which really helped the “exam environment” turn into a relaxing one.

So overall, I have to say that my midterm week wasn’t as stressful as I thought it was going to be – but I am ready for the next one (even though I am not really looking forward to it…)

Now let fall break begin!

Leave a Reply

