Internship news!

Happy Holidays from Image and me!

Although I have no equestrian news to blog about this time, I do have some exciting news to share in regards to my internship search.  Though I was not able to land a position at any of the companies that I had mentioned in my previous blog, I was recently offered a winter position at a company in Ann Arbor called Thomson Reuters.

(In case you’re not familiar with them, Thomson Reuters is a company that produces a variety of different software that is used in multiple fields of works, such as accounting and tax.)

At my internship, I’ll be trained to use their tax software and then I’ll be providing customer support for that software during tax season.  Although it’s not quite the accounting internship I initially planned to do, I’m really excited for this opportunity.  By the time I’m done, I should be very proficient with the program, which is a valuable asset since a majority of accounting firms use Thomson Reuter’s software.

In addition, Ann Arbor is only a short drive from my hometown of Pinckney, so I’ll be living at home during my internship.  That way I can save a little money by not having to pay rent and I’ll also be much closer to Image and James.

Despite my internship, I will also still ride for Albion’s stock seat team in early January at the MSU meet and hopefully I’ll also qualify for Regionals and Semi-Finals again.  And – since Ann Arbor is only a short distance from Belleville, which is where the Katonas’ barn is located – hopefully I’ll have the chance to take a few reining lessons with them.  I really enjoyed riding at their place last winter to prepare for Semi-Finals and I’m looking forward to doing it again this year.

With the semester officially over, it’s time for me to do a little relaxing. Everyone have a safe and happy holiday!

Leave a Reply

