Number Crunching

It’s Friday and I just logged my hours for my first week at the internship with Pfizer Animal Health!

All decked out for my first day as an intern – including my ID badge!

It’s crazy to think that I only work a 40 hour work week, yet I have already done so much!  I finished my orientation on the first day and then got right into the swing of things.  So far, I’ve completed a metric data analysis project and have sat in on some really interesting meetings.  (For those that don’t know, metrics are taken to help provide insight into staff efficiency.  One example could be the number of hours worked on a project.  As a math student, that one was right up my alley!)

One thing that I really appreciate about my internship is the optional summer hours that Pfizer offers.  The option means that, rather than working five eight-hour days (a normal work week), we have the option of working four nine-hour days and then we get to leave by noon on Friday.  Even with that flexible schedule, though, I haven’t been able to go ride at all now that I’m interning.  The commute to Albion is about one hour each direction so I just haven’t been able to make the time.  (Talk about analyzing efficiency!)

Once I realized my schedule would be this hectic for the rest of the summer, I decided that it would be best for both Sara and I if she were closer to me.  With that, I worked with the staff at the Held Center and arranged for Sara to move over to Todd Neumann’s barn just as soon as all of the necessary paperwork goes through.  Todd’s barn is about five minutes from my house, so it’s perfect for my circumstances and crazy internship schedule.  Once Sara gets all settled in and we get into regular training and a routine, we’ll be able to think about horse shows again!

Needless to say, the summer is off to a fantastic start – and I can’t wait to see what it brings!

Leave a Reply

